Archive

Archive for March 10, 2011

What Are Your Fortunes Trying to Tell You? Interpretation of 6 of My Own Fortunes

March 10, 2011 4 comments

diamond silver gold fortune cookie expensiveA couple weekends ago, my FiancĂ© and I met my family at PF Changs for lunch on a Sunday afternoon. My parents have been following my blog posts since I started blogging and are probably the ones who promote my posts the most (thanks Mom and Dad). Everytime we get together, my parents always tell me how much they love my blog posts and it’s good to know that at least someone is reading them.

Well that Sunday afternoon, after everyone finished their meals, we got our fortune cookies. We all read them to ourselves, threw them on the table and said what everyone says, “Psh…that was stupid…” Of course, with that reaction, everyone wanted to know what each other’s fortunes said. So, we picked them back up, went around the table, and read them off. Some of them were actually pretty good and immediately my parents said, “You should blog about these.” So here it is.

It’s important to remember that fortunes are nothing more than some inspirational sayings printed on a piece of paper and magically inserted into an odd shaped cookie. Just because your fortune says you’re going to make a lot of money in the near future doesn’t mean you should quit your job and hope your fortune comes true. Fortunes, like many other things in life (and our careers) are what we make of them. With that being said, here are our 6 fortunes from that Sunday afternoon and explanations of how you can make the most of them:

    1. You will soon be honored by someone you respect.

    First off, think of the people you respect. Maybe it’s your mom and dad, your significant other, your boss, another coworker, or a professor. Look for opportunities to impress these people and you will be honored in one way or another.

    2. Speak less of your plans – you will get more of them done.

    It’s great to talk about what you’re going to do, but as the saying goes “talk is cheap.” Put your words into action and start doing the things you say you’re going to do.

    3. Your nurturing instincts will expand to include many people.

    This one was especially relevant for my FiancĂ© who is an aspiring 1st grade teacher (a damn good one at that) looking to run her own classroom in the near future. We may not think we’re nurturing, but we are. Look for opportunities to prove it.

    4. You will do better in real estate than in stocks.

    This may very well be true. I pay very close attention to the stock market and I can say this is probably one of the most volatile markets since the Great Depression. On a similar note, the real estate market has taken a huge hit, but I do think we’ve come very close to the bottom and things will get better in the next few years. I know I recently bought a house because I wanted to take advantage of the current situation.

    5. Your talents will prove to be especially useful this week.

    This goes back to identifying our skills. Were all uniquely good at something, so find somewhere to apply your skills this week. Trust me, you will get noticed.

    6. Your goal will be met in two months.

    Again, we’ve discussed goal setting in the past. Now it’s time to figure out which one you think you can accomplish in the next two months and really strive to achieve it. You can do it!

So next time you get a fortune, take it seriously and remember to make the most of it. Who knows, maybe your fortunes will come true!

Image Credit

Categories: Success