Home > Career Life > The Perfectionist: A Review of my DISC Test Results

The Perfectionist: A Review of my DISC Test Results

DISC test assessment Dominance Influence Steadiness conscientiousnessI’m currently taking a summer course in leadership and last week, we took a personality test called the DISC assessment.  The DISC assessment includes 24 four-word groups in which you have to choose which word from each group is most like you and which word is least like you.  See below for an example four-word group.

disc gentle persuasive humble original

Once you’ve chosen a “most” and “least” word from each group, you add up the number of D’s, I’s, S’s, and C’s you’ve marked in each category, most or least, and put your counts into a table to help organize your results.

Here are my numbers for the “most” category:

D – 8
I – 1
S – 6
C – 5

Based on these numbers, I’m clearly a high D, which stand for Dominance.  High D’s have the following characteristics: confident, bold, egocentric, domineering, and forceful.  High D’s are strong in problem solving, decision making, achieving goals, leading, and new ideas.  On the other hand, high D’s are weak in the following areas: lacks caution, overruns people, impulsive, and fear being taken advantage of.  Finally, high D’s have a need for status, power, prestige, authority, and directness.

The number counts in the “least” category define how a person handles stress and how they act under pressure.  Here are my numbers for the “least” category:

D – 3
I – 5
S – 6
C – 6

Since I have a tie between S and C, my stress behavior style is between avoidance and compliance.  I would say my initial reaction to pressure would be to avoid confrontation to reduce frustration and try to figure things out on my own.  If the situation can’t be avoided, I tend to comply, by giving in as an attempt not to engage in conflict.  But if avoidance and compliance don’t work, high S’s tend to verbally attack if the situation can’t be avoided.

Using the “most” and “least” numbers, you can complete your entire profile by subtracting the “least” numbers from the “most” numbers.  This will give you your basic self concept which you can then use to graph your results in order to find a profile pattern.  My profile pattern ended up being the “perfectionist” pattern.

Perfectionists are competent in doing things right.  They are restrained and cautious.  They strive for stability and predictable accomplishments.  They judge others by precise standards and influence others by attention to detail and accuracy.  They are valuable to organizations because they are conscientious and maintain standards.  They overuse procedures and are overdependent on people and processes that have worked in the past.  Under pressure, they become tactful and diplomatic and fear antagonism.  Finally, they would increase effectiveness with role flexibility, independence and interdependence.

I could not believe how accurate the results of this test were.  I found myself saying, “Yep, that’s me…” to almost everything I read.  In my opinion, the DISC test is a great way to get an idea of how you behave, but I wish it included suggestions of which careers would best fit your personality.

Image Credit:
DISC Definition Circle
DISC Example Word Set

Webpage Credit:
DISC Types
Understanding DISC – Career Development

  1. June 13, 2014 at 2:44 PM

    Hi, Neat post. There’s a problem together with your website in internet explorer,
    could test this? IE still is the market chief and a huge component
    of other folks will ass over your great writing because of this problem.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

