Home > Diversification > Writing Skills vs. Presentation Skills

Writing Skills vs. Presentation Skills

presentation skills microphone nervous eric chaump

I’ve always been told that I’m a good writer.  Throughout high school, my teachers told me I had great writing skills and throughout college, I always got A’s on papers and essays.  This whole blogging experience has been great for me, as it’s given me an opportunity to write, a lot.  I’ll be honest, for a guy who got his degree in Supply Chain Management, writing 500 words two to three times a week is a LOT of writing.

I’m now embarking on a new adventure, a little thing called video blogging, which I’m sure you’ve already seen.  I’ve done two videos so far, neither of which I’m really proud of, and I’ll tell you why.  I hate presenting.  It’s one of those things that scares the hell out of me and I don’t know why.  Every presentation I’ve done in school was actually very good.  I always have someone tell me afterward, “You did great! Probably the best in the class.”

Every time I have presentation, the same thing happens.  I get nervous, my hands start to shake, my palms get sweaty, I start saying “umm” a lot, my voice sounds shaky, my mouth starts to dry out and I always forgot to stop and take a sip of water, which I have with me every time I present.  The funny thing?  The same exact thing happened the other night when I recorded my first video blog.  Why?  I don’t know.  It’s not like I was in front of a group of fellow students.  I was in my home office talking to a crappy video camera sitting on top of seven books and binders because I couldn’t get the camera to point at my face without them.  It took me over an hour to make it through a full run without screwing up and completely botching the entire video.  Maybe it was the thought of all the people out there who might actually watch my video on YouTube or my blog.  I don’t really know, but I do hope that video blogging will help me overcome my fear of presenting.

The reason for writing this post was to bring up the question: which is more important, writing skills or presentation skills?  Personally, I think it all depends on what you do.  If you work in sales, I would think presentation skills are more important.  If you work for a newspaper or magazine, writing skills are obviously going to be very important.  In most professions, though, there is a middle ground between the two.  It’s important to be good at both and not limit yourself to one or the other.  Besides, why wouldn’t you want to be good at both?  It’s one more thing you can add to your list of skills.

Now it’s your turn to answer the question: what’s more important?  Share your opinions below!

Image Credit

  1. October 1, 2014 at 11:45 AM

    Thank you for another informative blog. Where else may just I am getting that type of info
    written in such a perfect means? I’ve a mission that I’m simply now running on, and I’ve
    been at the look out for such information.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

