Home > Money > Don’t Forget the Leftovers!

Don’t Forget the Leftovers!

dont forget the leftovers chinese food take out to go carton boxIf there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that I love food.  All kinds of food, in fact.  Mexican food, Chinese food, Indian food, Italian food, sushi, hot dogs, hamburgers, pizza, etc.  My love for food is one of the reason why I love going out to eat.  You get to experience foods that you wouldn’t get to eat otherwise.  I mean, c’mon, when was the last time you had homemade escargot?

I’m also the type of guy who will eat until my plate is clean (and sometimes others plates).  But on that rare occasion, there are times when I just can’t finish my entire meal.  So what do I do?  I do what everyone else does, of course!  I ask for a to-go box and take it home with me.  What’s better than having last night’s delicious dinner for lunch today?  Um, nothing!

So what does this have to do with Professional Diversification?  Well one of the main discussion topics of my blog is money, particularly, how to save money or make money.  While eating out can get expensive, saving your leftovers and eating them for lunch the next day is a great way to save yourself some money.

In order to get the most bang for your buck, you have to be conscious of what your order when you’re eating out.  If you really want to save yourself some money on food, you have to think about what you’re ordering.  Is it something that will still taste good a day or two later?  Chinese food is a classic example of an excellent leftover food.  On the other hand, a chicken Caesar salad probably isn’t going to be that good.  The lettuce starts to wilt and the croutons get soggy.  That’s not even worth eating.

So next time you go out to dinner, think about what you’re ordering so you can save yourself some money on tomorrow’s lunch.

Image Credit

Categories: Money Tags: , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

