Home > Career Life, Uncategorized > 6 Traits You Can Learn From Playing On Your Company Softball Team

6 Traits You Can Learn From Playing On Your Company Softball Team

GERP Golden Eagle Regional Park Sparks Nevada SoftballI know what you’re thinking.  Company softball?  Where’s the beer?  Most people play softball to get away from the office, give themselves something to do in their free time, or just to drink lots of beer.  Not me.  I play company softball for a few reasons.  One, being the fact that I grew up playing competitive baseball in Little League, Babe Ruth, and high school starting when I was just five years old.  After high school, I tried out for the University of Nevada, Reno baseball team and didn’t make it (they told me they already had a full roster).  So after that, I gave up on competitive baseball and focused on getting good grades in college.  After graduating with a 3.92 GPA (yes, I’m bragging), I made my way into the corporate world working in operations for a large corporation.  This is where I found myself back on the field.  Unfortunately, it wasn’t the baseball diamond I was used to, but the softball field was as close to competitive baseball I was ever going to get.  This is what I’ve learned:

1. Competition

While some people could care less if they win or lose, I carried the competitive nature of baseball over into the game of softball.  I’m there to win, not drink beer or make fun of each other.  When it comes to your career, you have to be competitive, or you’ll never get anywhere.  You have to have the desire to beat out the person next to you to get you where you want to be.

2. Teamwork

Well duh!  You’re playing on a team.  Obviously, teamwork is a huge part of the game.  You can’t win a game by yourself.  In fact, if you don’t have at least nine players, they won’t let you play.  The same goes for your career.  You won’t make it very far playing the “Lone Ranger” role.  You have to get to know people and you have to learn to work together.  Those who work well with others are more desirable as you work your way up the ladder.

3. Communication

“I got it!  I got it!”  “No, I got it!”  *SMASH*  Okay, that was my terrible impression of two outfielders colliding because they couldn’t properly communicate.  It’s one of the most important parts of the game.  Simple outs turn into embarrassing blunders if you don’t communicate.  Don’t let your career turn into a blunder.  Get out there, talk to people, and understand what’s going on.  That way you can adjust your game plan accordingly.

4. Timeliness

Playing company softball gives you the chance to practice your time management skills.  I get off work at 4:30, it takes me 20 minutes to get home, which leaves me about 30 minutes to eat dinner and 10 minutes to change, so I can drive 30 minutes to the field and be there 30 minutes early for warm ups.  Any idea what time the game starts?  I’ll let you figure that out.

5. Dependability

This goes along with timeliness.  When you say you’re going to be there, your teammates are depending on you.  Let’s say you’re the manager.  You have 12 people on the team and you need at least 9 to play.  You’ve confirmed with your players that 3 people won’t make it to the game leaving exactly 9 to show up.  If you don’t show up, the team doesn’t play and they will have to forfeit.  When you tell someone you’re going to do something throughout your career, you do it.  Build a solid, dependable reputation for yourself so that people know exactly what they can expect from you in the future.

6. Motivation

Saved my favorite topic for last!  There are a couple reason why playing company softball is motivating.  For one, it gives you the chance to get away from everything going on at work or at home.  It gives you a couple of hours to just have fun.  It re-energizes you when you get back to work the next morning.  Second, it gives you a chance to bond with your teammates/coworkers in ways you wouldn’t at work.  When you form a tight bond with people from work, you’re more likely to enjoy being there.

Image Credit

Leave a Reply

