Home > Career Life > Settle for a Slowdown: How a Vacation can Energize or Kill your Motivation

Settle for a Slowdown: How a Vacation can Energize or Kill your Motivation

Eric and Justine San Francisco Fisherman's WharfNo, this post is not about the Dierks Bentley song called “Settle for a Slowdown,” although I really do like that song. It is about the trip my Fiancé and I took to San Francisco over the Memorial Day weekend. My Fiancé just recently graduated from college earlier this month and I just could not, for the life of me, decide what to get her. Jewelry? Purse? Jeans? Nah, I’ve done all that before. So, I decided I would take her on a trip to San Francisco, because she hasn’t stopped talking about how much she loved San Francisco since we went there for her 21st birthday.

In one of my previous posts, 4 Things You Get to Enjoy When You’re Successful, I talked about vacations from a family standpoint, bringing the family together. But what I didn’t talk about was how important vacations can be for the working person. Vacations are a great way to prevent burnout, where you eventually get so stressed out with your career that you explode (not literally of course). I specifically planned this vacation on a weekend where I had a free day off (Memorial Day) so that we would have a full three days to enjoy the city. I didn’t have to burn any precious PTO and I didn’t fall behind in the office because nobody was working yesterday anyway.

Eric and Justine San Francisco FIsherman's Wharf Pier 39Vacations can have one of two effects on the working person: they can re-energize you or they can de-motivate you. Some people return from vacation ready to get back in their “groove.” They’ve enjoyed their weekend, their holiday, or PTO, and now they feel like it’s the first day on the job and they want to impress everyone. On the other hand, some people return from vacation wishing they were still on vacation. They enjoyed their time off so much that they don’t want to be back at work. Luckily for me, I felt re-energized to get back into the swing of things. I went to bed on time last night, I woke up early, made it to work five minutes earlier than usual, and got quite a bit of work done today.

So whether it’s a weekend stay-cation or a week long vacation, remember to enjoy your time off with family and friends and come back to work re-energized and ready to go!

When was the last time you took a vacation? Did you come back to work re-energized or de-motivated? Share your comments below!

Related Content:

4 Things You Get to Enjoy When You’re Successful

Related Articles:

Avoid Burnout Within the Workplace – Ashley Cray

  1. June 3, 2011 at 8:56 PM

    Hi Eric,

    You are SO right!!! And it’s amazing how often clients of mine or people I know (including myself) forgo vacations because they are “too busy”. Well, that’s not good. Vacations re-energize and most importantly, give us a different perspective, which I think is of ultimate importance for creative thinking and high quality work.

    Great reminder – thanks!

    p.s. What a thoughtful gift for your fiance!

    • June 3, 2011 at 11:07 PM

      Terry

      From Twitter to my blog, thanks for commenting!

      I think you made a good point about having a different perspective after a vacation. I think that’s probably why my week was so productive this week. I came back to work Tuesday with a new mentality on a project I’ve been working on with a newfound motivation and I ended up making a lot of progress.

      Thanks again,
      Eric

  1. June 12, 2011 at 9:12 PM
  2. June 19, 2011 at 5:47 PM
  3. August 10, 2011 at 7:39 PM

Leave a Reply

