Home > Success > Dress For Success (Part 1): 3 Reasons Why You Should Look Sharp at Work

Dress For Success (Part 1): 3 Reasons Why You Should Look Sharp at Work

business suit successful jean shorts unsuccessful mullet How do you identify a successful business person without ever talking to them?  You look at the way they are dressed!  Okay, I understand that is kind of like judging people, but we all do it.  We see a guy wearing dirty cut-off jean shorts and a ripped white t-shirt and say, “Wow, what a slob…”  But, when we see a guy dressed to a “T” with a nice suit, shiny shoes, and a slick haircut we think, “Damn, that guy knows how to make a living…”  But in reality, the cut-off jean short guy might actually make more money than the slick suit guy.  Shoot, the slick suit guy may not even have a job.  The point I’m trying to make here is that we all judge people by their appearance and since we know people do it, I’m here to tell you why you should always try to look sharp, especially at work.

1. Confidence Booster

The last two days, I’ve dressed up for work because I was part of a two-day on-site visit from one of our software vendors.  Since I work in a warehouse type environment, we’re allowed to wear things like shorts and a t-shirt because nobody ever really sees us except the people we work with everyday.  We aren’t really exposed to the public.  I decided I wanted to look “legit” for this external entity to make myself look more believable and trustworthy.  Well it turns out I impressed myself.  I walked into work on Wednesday morning with a big smile on my face and I felt important, even though I was the same person I was when I left Tuesday night.

2. Positive Image

As soon as I walked in that morning, I had people asking me all kinds of questions.  “Why are you looking all fancy today?”  “You got an interview or something?” “Looking sharp, Eric!”  Not only does that increase your confidence, but it increases the positivity of peoples perception of you.  I’m not saying people thought I was any smarter or more successful that day, but they sure make me feel like it.

3. Stand Out In The Crowd

This is, in my opinion, the most important part of dressing for success.  When all your coworkers are wearing casual clothing, try dressing up a little.  Don’t do it gradual though.  On Monday morning, dress for success and see what people say.  You have to get that “WOW!” factor.  I guarantee you will get noticed and you will start a conversation around yourself.  People will talk about you and word will spread.  Spreading the word is good, as long as it’s positive, which this is.  When you dress for success and conversation spreads, it gets translated to upper management as, “Hey, this guy is legit and wants to be successful.”  DING, DING, DING…Promotion!

In Part 2 of dressing for success, I’ll discuss ways you can change your style and appearance to help you look legit!

Image Credit:
Business Suit
Jean Shorts

Related Content:
What Does Your Car Say About Your Success?

  1. May 22, 2011 at 9:14 PM

    “Dress for the job you want, not the job you have.” That’s what I’ve always been told! I came from a company where I could where sandals and jeans to work and LOVED LIFE!! But at the same time I wasn’t nearly as respected the way I am at my current job where a suit is more-or-less mandatory. They both have their pro’s and con’s, but I definitely agree that dressing nicely is a huge confidence booster.

    • May 1, 2014 at 9:49 AM

      what about u being sin.

  2. May 23, 2011 at 6:12 PM

    Ashley

    I like that saying! It’s perfect for this post. And like you said, whether it’s required or not, it always makes you feel important, right?

    Thanks,
    Eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

