Home > Career Life > Why Am I So Hairy!?

Why Am I So Hairy!?

Eric Chaump Hairy Legs Why Am I so Hairy?

It’s true.  I’m hairy.  I’ve been considered hairy since I was in middle school, or about 13 years old.  My arms are moderately hairy.  The hair on my neck grows out of control if I wait to long to get a haircut.  My chest is getting to the point where the hair sticks out the top of my collared shirts.  Luckily, though, my back isn’t hairy, except for that one pesky hair that grows out of a mole that my Fiancé has to pluck every couple of weeks.  Now that I’ve completely grossed you out, let me tell you about my pride and joy of hairiness, my legs.

I started growing hair on my legs when I was in elementary school and by the time I was in middle school, it had turned into what I called, “The Black Forest.”  How did this name come about you might ask?  Well I was sitting outside with my mom one day when a small bug flew onto my leg.  The bug got trapped in what seemed like a spider web of hair and I told my mom, “Look Mom, its The Black Forest, once you go in, you never come back.”

So now that I have your attention, let me tell you why this is important in the business setting and for your career.  I’ve been teased most of my life about my hairy legs and much of my coworkers have given me the, “Holy crap, you’re hairy!”  In fact, one of my nicknames at work is “Heric” because I’m hairy and my name is Eric.  I started to wonder if “showing off” my hairy legs was a good idea at work.  It might affect the way people perceive me.

So here’s my question, does the presence of abnormal physical features prevent a person from being successful or moving up the corporate ladder?  After discussing this issue with a couple people, I’ve come to the conclusion that it does.  But why?  Hairy legs doesn’t seem like a big deal, so why should crooked teeth, obesity, “coke-bottle” glasses, vertically challenged, cross-eyed, or handicapped.  We’re all capable of doing the same job regardless of our physical attributes, right?  So why should that stop anyone from becoming the person they want to be in their career?

  1. May 13, 2011 at 7:17 PM

    Hasn’t it been statistically proven that overweight people have a hard time climbing the leadership ladder? I remember reading that some time ago. With that being said – I do believe that physical appearances can be detrimental/beneficial while trying to gain promotions. I don’t think this is an end-all be-all, but it would be an interesting study!

    • May 13, 2011 at 9:01 PM

      Ashley

      That would be an interesting study! I do believe it’s been statistically proven, but even if it hasn’t, it’s theoretically true, whether people want to admit it or not.

      Thanks,
      Eric

  2. ashleyturney
    June 2, 2011 at 9:59 AM

    I remember reading a study that discussed how one’s beauty/physical attractiveness affected the level of success and wage. The more “attractive” a person was, dictated their success. It should be noted, the attractiveness was also based on symmetry of facial features. Odd, sad, and frankly, I think true at times; regardless of the ethical biases. Marketing always depicts the attractive CEO’s, so it only seems logical everyday business follows suit. Thanks!

    • June 2, 2011 at 3:29 PM

      Ashley

      I agree with you 100%. As much as people try to deny the fact that better looking people get promoted quicker, I strongly believe that beauty is a factor.

      Thanks for the comment!

      Eric

  3. Brian
    July 25, 2011 at 11:44 AM

    There isn’t a doubt in my mind that beauty has a crucial factor in ones success unless you have made your own business successful. You don’t need to please anyone but yourself and customers. And be wary of these so called studies many things change behind closed doors in an office. If your sexy boss calls you in and flirts chances are you’re going to flirt back. This should be common sense. But people that have always been beautiful are oblivious to many things. You can point out where I am wrong but I doubt you’ll have much luck.

  4. July 28, 2011 at 8:56 PM

    Brian

    I agree with you 100% and you brought up a good point. Aside from just good looks, workplace relationships and “flirting” is present in all office settings. It’s one of those things that companies enforce, but can be hard to control. Maybe I’ll write a little something about this in future. Thanks for the comment!

    Eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

