Home > Potential Careers > Potential Career #2: College Professor

Potential Career #2: College Professor

About a year ago, a friend of mine referred me to an interesting website called TransparentNevada.com. This website provides the salaries of all public employees in the state of Nevada. I apologize ahead of time to those of you who are public employees, but the information is public and I’m sure you are well aware of that. I can’t begin to tell you how many hours I spent searching for people I knew. Why is it so fascinating to know how much other people make? I don’t know, but that’s a topic for another discussion. I happened to notice that most of my college professors actually make a pretty good chunk of money every year. I started to wonder if being a college professor is something I might want to do later on in life. Obviously, right now is not a great time to be a college professor at UNR and probably isn’t a good time anywhere else, but it may be a good idea later on down the road.

So, now is the time when I answer the 6 questions that I outlined in Identifying Potential Careers by Leveraging Your Skills and Interests.

1. What?

This career obviously involves teaching at the collegiate level, but I’d prefer teaching at a University like UNR. I got my undergraduate degree in Supply Chain Management and I would really enjoy teaching an Operations Management class that involves manufacturing resource planning.

2. Why?

The obvious reason why I’m considering this career is the money and the schedule. Working a 9 to 5 can get pretty boring, so I think having a two night a week teaching schedule would be cool. Yes, I understand there are office hours and other activities you have to participate in when you’re a professor, but I still think it provides more flexibility.

3. Where?

I would prefer to teach at UNR or maybe TMCC, but unfortunately, there aren’t as many colleges as there are high schools and elementary schools, which leaves me with less options. In the end, there is a possibility of having to move if this is something I really wanted to do.

4. When?

I could probably teach an introductory summer class as a guest professor without any other preparation, but I would probably be better off getting a Ph.D. if I really decided to pursue this career. I don’t plan on doing this anytime soon, so I have some time to think about it.

5. Who?

The nice thing about being a college student is I have a ton of resources to help get me on the right track. I actually have a classmate and friend who is teaching an introductory accounting class this summer that I could talk to. Check out his Accounting for the Instant Generation blog when you get a chance.

6. How?

If I was to lose my job this week, I would get in touch with my accounting friend to see how he got a part time summer job as a guest professor. That would give me some time to start talking to other professors about how to go about getting a full time position with the university.

If you didn’t watch the video before reading this post, go ahead and watch it now. If you did watch the video before reading, watch it again. Makes me laugh every time. I just hope none of my students decide to tackle me in front of the class if I decide to be a professor.

If you have any suggestions or advice, feel free to share your thoughts in the comments section below.

Video Credit

Webpage Credit:
TransparentNevada.com
Accounting for the Instant Generation – Ryan Moser

  1. Rachel Paulsen
    April 21, 2011 at 1:05 PM

    Eric,
    Being in school I have a few friends who are currently earning their PhDs, and what I noticed about the whole process is that not a lot of people actually want to go that far in school. When teachers find a student who wants to get a PhD or become a teacher, they take that student under their wing, so to speak, and help the student learn what options are available to them. My advice is simply to talk to your teachers, and people in the department because, from my experience, they love to help out.
    -Rachel

  2. April 21, 2011 at 8:38 PM

    Rachel

    Thanks for the great advice! I’m definitely going to have to get in touch with some of my professors and just let them know that I’m interested in teaching.

    Thanks,
    Eric

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

