Home > Potential Careers > Potential Career #1: Stock Market Investing

Potential Career #1: Stock Market Investing

bank of america stock market google financeI remember buying my first stock in February of 2009.  Since I had never even paid attention to the stock market, I just listened to what the people around me were talking about.  This was the time when the banks were going through rough times and nobody was really sure what would happen to them.  Bank’s stock prices kept falling and falling with no end in sight.  Well I figured Bank of America wouldn’t go under, and we all know that it didn’t.  I decided to buy 18 shares of BAC at $4.91 (I’ll remind you that BAC was once trading in the $50’s in 2007).  After I bought the stock, it kept dropping and started freaking out, because at the time, $100 was a lot of money for me.  It turned out that I made a good choice with BAC though, because by the end of the year, the stock was up to about $16.  That’s a 226% increase!

After seeing how easy it was to make money in stocks, I spent every minute researching strategies and watching stock prices.  I remember days when I would wake up at 6:30am to start watching the stock market and I wouldn’t take my eyes off the computer until 1pm when the market closed.  I now own a 5-stock portfolio consisting of BAC, EFGU, JOEZ, DHT, and JSDA.  My overall portfolio is currently up 55%.

So how can I turn this into a career, or a way to consistently make money?  I’ll answer the questions provided in my last post, Identifying Potential Careers by Leveraging Your Skills and Interests.

1. What?

This career obviously involves the stock market.  Some of the potential careers involved in the stock market can be an independent stock trader (like myself), a stock broker, hedge fund manager, mutual fund manager, or an investment banker.

2. Why?

One of the reasons I really like this career path is simply because I like the stock market.  I like watching stock prices, analyzing securities, knowing what’s going on with companies, and trying to find trending patterns.  I think I would be pretty good at this career because I’ve already been quite successful as an individual investor.

3. Where?

The nice thing about this career is that if you have access to the Internet, you can trade stocks.  I wouldn’t necessarily have to move away for this career, although, stock market careers are more prominent in New York.

4. When?

I’ve owned stocks for over 2 years now, I’ve read a number of books, I’ve researched stock market strategies online, and I’m currently taking an MBA level portfolio management class at UNR.  I think I would be ready to move from individual investing to professional money management.

5. Who?

If I wanted to seriously consider this option as a career path, I could talk to my portfolio management professor who could help me get started.  We had a guest speaker come into our class a few weeks ago named Mike Hurley who runs a mutual fund called Incline Capital who would be a great resource.

6. How?

If I was to lose my job this week, I would dive deeper into individual investing until I could get in touch with someone like Mike Hurley who could help me set up a mutual fund and begin to professionally manage money.

Image Credit

Related Articles:
About Stock Market Careers – eHow.com
Stockbroker Job Requirements and Careers: Facts and Fiction

  1. April 17, 2011 at 9:43 PM

    This is awesome stuff Eric, you told me you would give some advice … and here it is.

    Great stuff as always!

    Ryan

    • April 17, 2011 at 9:54 PM

      Ryan

      This is just the tip of iceberg. I forgot to mention in my post that I’m going to start posting some stock market tips. Like how to buy and sell stocks and then how to analyze securities to make good decisions.

      Thanks,
      Eric

  2. merline1101
    April 21, 2011 at 7:21 PM

    i am glad that you made great investments by picking great stocks. word of advice tho, you should understand that you entered the stock market at a GREAT time when the market tumbled, and rode the up-trend train, its hard for an investor to lost much money if they entered around 2009 and waited, most likely those who entered in 2009 and waited all made money. you shall watch your profolio with more diligent from now on

    again, greatest of luck to you

    • April 21, 2011 at 8:44 PM

      Merline

      You are absolutely right. I did enter the market at a great time. The main reason why I entered the market, and why I bought BAC, was because the market was in a huge slump. I remember telling myself and others that the market can only go up from here. Yes, that’s a bold statement anytime you talk about the stock market, because unless everything is trading at $0, there’s still room for it to go down.

      Thanks,
      Eric

  3. January 11, 2014 at 5:04 PM

    I am truly thankful to the holder of this website who has shared this
    enormous piece of writing at here.

  4. August 31, 2014 at 6:32 AM

    Overall, Need for Speed Rivals is a joyful,
    arcade style of racing game that is actually a breath of fresh-air when you look at some
    of the more serious racers out there. For the Linux user 3 – 6 months into their Linux learning
    experience I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Fedora Linux 10.
    This can be compared to first learning to drive a car.

  5. September 22, 2014 at 11:22 AM

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your blogs really
    nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website
    to come back down the road. All the best

  6. September 30, 2014 at 5:53 AM

    I was recommended this web site via my cousin. I’m no longer
    positive whether or not this publish is written by way of him as no one else know such designated approximately my trouble.
    You are amazing! Thanks!

  7. April 17, 2017 at 3:11 AM

    I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog.

  1. May 24, 2011 at 5:20 AM
  2. August 1, 2011 at 9:37 PM

Leave a Reply

