Home > Money > 2 Things You Forget to Consider When Searching for a Job: A 2-Part Mini Study (Part 2)

2 Things You Forget to Consider When Searching for a Job: A 2-Part Mini Study (Part 2)

gas prices arm leg both first born chevronThis post is a continuation of 2 Things You Forget to Consider When Searching for a Job: A 2-Part Mini Study.

After analyzing my own driving costs, I decided to survey some family and coworkers regarding their work commute.  I asked them what their average gas mileage was and how many times they drove to and from work.  We also calculated how far of a drive their work commute was.  After plugging this information into the same formulas as the previous post, I got the following results.

gas price gallon miles work driven day week month year cost

When I compared my results to other people, I couldn’t believe how much of a difference there was.  I was even amazed that I was spending the most of everyone I surveyed.  Look at my results compared to Coworker J.  Coworker J drives a big truck that gets terrible gas mileage, but he lives less than a mile from work.  Even if he went home for lunch, I’d still be spending more than him.

Next, I decided to adjust some of the variables to see how much of a difference it would make.  First, I considered what would happen if gas prices went down or continued to rise.  If gas prices go back down to $3.50, I would be saving about $15 per month.  If gas prices continue to rise to $4.50, I would be spending an extra $23 per month.  See results below…

gas prices

Second, I considered what would happen if I had a different car.  If I had my old truck that I had before my Jeep, I’d be getting about 11 Miles per Gallon.  If this were the case, I’d be spending an extra $53 per month.  If I was to drive my Fiancé’s car to work, I’d be saving about $46 per month.  See results below…

Miles Per Gallon

Third, I considered the differences in the distance I have to drive to and from work.  If I had to drive as far as my Fiancé did, I’d be saving $95 per year.  If we moved to an area where we’d like to live in the future, which is farther away from work, I’d be spending an extra $40 per month.  See results below…

distance to from work miles

Finally, I considered what would happen if I drive to and from work more or less. Since I have to go to work at least once a day, I only calculated the effect of driving home for lunch.  Of course, if I drove home for lunch, my transportation costs would double, which comes out to an extra $140 per month.  See results below…

lunch driving home for work

Based on these results, there are a number of things I could do to save money driving to and from work.  I could get a new car.  I could drive my Fiance’s car.  I could move closer to work.  Or I could find a new job that’s closer to home.  Unfortunately, I can’t really do anything about the gas prices and I can’t just stop going to work (although telecommuting would be cool).

If these options are out of the question for you, you could always refer to this list of 75 Gas Saving Driving Tips to save yourself some money.

Image Credit

Webpage Credit:

Telecommuting – Wikipedia

75 Gas Saving Tips – Christian PF

Categories: Money Tags: ,
  1. Michael Chaump
    April 8, 2011 at 7:56 AM

    Car pooling may be another option to saving gas money. It’s not always that convenient but could add-up to some cost savings.

    • April 8, 2011 at 8:16 AM

      Mike

      You are absolutely right. I guess that’s one way of reduce the amount of times you have to drive to and from work. And it’s probably the one thing that results in the biggest cost savings.

      Thanks,
      Eric

  1. May 24, 2011 at 5:20 AM

Leave a Reply

