Home > Money > 2 Things You Forget to Consider When Searching for a Job: A 2-Part Mini Study (Part 1)

2 Things You Forget to Consider When Searching for a Job: A 2-Part Mini Study (Part 1)

2006 Jeep Grand Cherokee white lifted black rims offroad tires ion general grabber rock krawlerWhen you’re applying for a new job, what do you usually take into consideration when making the decision?  How much you’ll get paid?  What kind of benefits does it include?  The hours and days you’ll be working?  The size and reputation of the company?  The type of work you’ll be doing?  These are some of the typical questions people ask themselves when searching for a job.  But, did you ever think of these two things?

1. Your Car

2. Where You Live

You’re probably wondering how these things really affect your job search decisions, so I’m going to share with you a small study I did to realize the true cost of driving to and from work.

With gas prices on the rise and all the hype of alternative energy solutions to power our vehicles, I started wondering how much it was really costing me to drive to and from work every day, five days a week.  First, I thought about my car.  I drive an SUV with a small lift and oversize off-road tires.  On average, I get about 14-15 miles per gallon.  Just a few days ago, I paid $3.89 per gallon of gasoline and it cost me about $66.00 to fill the tank.  Then, I started thinking about my drive to and from work.  My work commute is exactly 14 miles in each direction and it takes about 20 minutes on average.  In addition, I don’t go home for lunch.

So what does this mean?  Using these numbers, I calculated the cost of driving to and from work per day, week, month, and year.  I was astonished to see that I was spending $1,742.72 per year on gas just from driving to and from work.  That doesn’t include all the other driving I do for school and other errands.  You don’t realize it, but we really do spend a lot on gasoline.

Below is a chart that outlines how much it costs me per day, week, month, and year for gasoline.  It includes the following variables: average price of gas, my gas mileage, the distance I drive to and from work, and how many times I drive that route per day.

gas price gallon miles work driven day week month year cost

In Part 2 of this mini study, I will survey some family members and coworkers to discover how much I’m really paying to drive to and from work compared to them. I will also analyze how much I could save by making small changes to some of the variables. So, if you liked this, be sure to check back in a couple days to read Part 2.

Categories: Money

Leave a Reply

