Home > Money > 6 Easy Ways to Save a Couple Bucks

6 Easy Ways to Save a Couple Bucks

In these tough economic times, everyone is looking for ways to save a couple bucks.  Because the more money you save, the more wealthy you are right?.  By saving money, you’re adding to your own bottom line.  Saving money isn’t always a matter of “cutting” things out of our lives, but rather taking the extra time and effort to make saving possible.   In order to do that, you have to have a good idea of where there is money to be saved.   To help you out, I’ve identified six simple ways you can save a couple bucks:

1. Coupons

I know what you’re thinking.  “Coupons are ridiculous, you barely save any money by using them.”  You want to bet?  Have you seen that new show called Extreme Couponing?  Well if you haven’t, I’ll give you a little synopsis.  There are little tips and tricks that people use to get everyday items nearly free using coupons.  These extreme couponers walk out of grocery stores, with six or seven carts full of groceries, paying only dollars for the entire bill. Still don’t believe me? Now’s the time to play the video below…

2. Yelp

Yelp is my new favorite social media platform.  Yelp is a business review network where everyday people submit reviews for local businesses, such as restaurants.  Well, Yelp has a cool feature for iPhones or other app-enabled devices called Check-In Offers.  A check-in occurs when someone is visiting a business, say a restaurant, and “checks-in”, notifying people that they are there.  A Check-In Offer is a deal offered by businesses for using this Yelp feature, for example, $10 off your meal of $30 or more for checking in.

3. Discount Stores

Have you ever been to a store like Ross, Marshalls, or T.J.Maxx?  If you haven’t, I encourage you to go.  These stores offer items you find in big, expensive department stores like Macy’s and Nordstrom at a discounted price.  There’s nothing wrong with the items and you can usually find some really good name brands.  You can also take it one step further and head straight for the clearance rack (often times up to 80% off regular price).

4. Programmable Thermostat

Before my Fiancé started student teaching, she stayed home most of the day in our new house cleaning it up and painting while I was at work.  Now that she’s started student teaching, she too is gone for most of the day.  When she leaves to go to school, she turns the heat down about 10 degrees and back up when she gets home.  We noticed that since she started student teaching, our energy bill has gone down a little over 23%.  Now, we manually turn down the heat when we leave and back up when we get home, but most thermostats allow you to program a schedule so that it turns down automatically after you leave and back up just before you get home.  If you don’t already do this, take the time to learn your thermostat and program it to your schedule to save you some money.

5. Pack A Lunch

Before I bought a house and started living on my own, I would go out to lunch every day of the week.  I would try to give myself a $5 budget, but I usually went a little over that.  This means I was spending between $25-30 per week on lunch.  Multiply that by the four weeks in a month and I was spending $100-$120 per month on lunch.  Now my Fiancé packs me a lunch.  Yes, it costs an extra $15 dollars at the grocery store every week to buy a week’s worth of lunch, but that’s saving me $40-60 per month.

6. Do I Really Need That?

Next time you’re considering buying something, whether its a $2,000 TV or a $2 bag of potato chips at the store.  Ask yourself if you really need it.  Most of the time the answer is no.  You can save yourself a good amount of money simply by practicing frugality and self-control.

I hope this list can help you save some money and increase your wealth at the same time.  If you have any other suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

Video Credit

Webpage Credit:

TLC – Extreme Couponing

Yelp

  1. March 27, 2011 at 8:32 PM

    Love this Eric, rules to live by!

    • March 27, 2011 at 9:39 PM

      Thanks Ryan. Don’t you forget them!

  2. March 27, 2011 at 9:36 PM

    “Pack a lunch” is my favorite! I realized I was spending $6.50 every day on lunch at Port of Subs. That’s roughly $130 per month for just lunch! I think packing a lunch could be one of the easiest ways to save money, if more people just realize the impact it has. I always try coupons – I always forget to bring them to the store though 😦 then they expire.

    One thing that really helps me is taking out cash for a 2-week period for food/groceries/toiletries etc (non-entertainment items). It drives me to spend less the next 2 weeks.

    Great post! Perfect timing for my blog post, but yours was a little more thought through than mine 🙂

    • March 27, 2011 at 9:43 PM

      Thanks for the comment Ashley!

      I tried using a bunch of printable coupons today at the grocery store. Let me tell you what NOT to do. So, I went ahead and obeyed my first tip, to use coupons. I found a couple websites that offer printable manufacturers coupons. That’s pretty cool right? Well, in the mean time, I forgot to obey my sixth tip, do I really need that? Long story short, I ended up buying a bunch of things I didn’t need just because I found a coupon for them and ended up spending more money than I wanted to. Oops…

      Thanks again,
      Eric

      • March 28, 2011 at 6:01 PM

        Hahaha I read that to my boyfriend because we have done the same thing! Or – another good one – when you use coupons but still end up paying more than the generic brand. One “strategy” that works for me is to specifically seek manufacturer coupons for items you regularly keep in your kitchen. For example – my boyfriend loves Chunky Soup, so we go to their website and print off their coupons specifically. It’s more work sometimes, but that way we can target the coupons we’re searching for.

      • March 28, 2011 at 9:52 PM

        Ashley

        I think that’s a much better strategy than just looking for coupons for anything. Especially if you’re just a casual couponer like us. Thanks for sharing!

        Thanks,
        Eric

  3. March 27, 2011 at 11:26 PM

    wow! This was really interesting, thanks! I need to start clipping coupons obviously, that’s CRAZY!!! I love how the checker looks like she is going to get in trouble for scanning all those coupons 🙂

    • March 28, 2011 at 9:50 PM

      Amber

      You should seriously watch the show. I’m fascinated by how these people do it. Be careful with the coupons though, they tend to get you to buy things you normally wouldn’t buy just because you have a coupon.

      Thanks,
      Eric

  4. March 28, 2011 at 7:13 PM

    This is great information. I am also going to be on the TLC Extreme Couponing show and teaching people how to coupon is what I do. Visit my web site to learn how to do it. One of the tricks is to be patient, you wont build a stockpile overnight, as long as you are consistent in your couponing efforts, you will succeed!

    • March 29, 2011 at 10:01 PM

      Treasure

      Thanks for commenting on my blog. I truly appreciate it!

      I’m fascinated by this extreme couponing stuff. What advice do you have for people like myself who don’t necessarily want to stockpile goods, but just want to save some money at the grocery store?

      Also, let me know when your episode airs. I can’t wait to watch it!

      Thanks,
      Eric

  5. ashleyturney
    April 15, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    For the iPhone users out there: free coupon app called “Coupon Sherpa” totally rocks! It pulls current coupons from a variety of stores in our area, and has the barcode or code readily available. The clerk at the store simply scans your phone. Easy, no clipping and discounts galore!

    • April 15, 2011 at 4:54 PM

      Ashley

      Thanks for the coupon tip. I’m going to have to check that out!

      Thanks,
      Eric

  1. March 29, 2011 at 9:22 PM
  2. April 5, 2011 at 8:28 PM
  3. July 3, 2011 at 9:25 AM

Leave a Reply

