Home > Diversification > Chasing the American Dream: One Way… or (Many) Others…

Chasing the American Dream: One Way… or (Many) Others…

sign diversify diversification purple

Welcome to my blog!  For the last couple of weeks, I’ve been pondering the questions: “What should I blog about? What is my value to others? What makes me remarkable?”  My first thought was, “I’ll just blog about my current career (manufacturing/operations).”   Nah.   Then I started to think of some other things that I was good at, like trading stocks.  I started my own personal stock portfolio a couple years ago and it’s nearly doubled in value over the years.  That’s pretty good if you ask me.  I also thought about the things I truly enjoy doing and always wished I could make a living out of, like graphic design and website development.  Then it hit me.   I’m not going to blog about any of that.   Instead, I’m going to blog about helping people realize their skills and abilities and assemble them into what I call a “Professional Portfolio.”   What is a Professional Portfolio, you might ask?   It’s essentially the same as a stock portfolio, except a Professional Portfolio is a combination of professional skills and abilities that you could turn into successful careers.  By learning how to create your Professional Portfolio, you can prepare yourself for uncertain times.   This process is what I call, “Professional Diversification.”

My inspiration to blog about Professional Diversification was derived from two people who are very close to me.  I just earned my undergraduate degree in business with a major in supply chain management.  I got an internship in the summer of 2009 and was hired full-time the week after I graduated.  After only six months as a full-time employee, I was offered to work on a project that will likely lead to a promotion if I do well.  While I’ve been quickly climbing the ladders where I work, getting raises and bonuses every year, others aren’t so fortunate.  Some people decide to go back to college when they’re 50 years old to be a better candidate for that big position at work, only to find out that once they get their degree, that position isn’t available anymore.  Some people are months away from retirement, but due to budget cuts, they’ve been forced to take pay cuts and demotions.  Some people are at risk of losing their jobs completely due to downsizing.  The purpose of this blog is to help those who are encountering uncertain times in their current work environments by engaging in Professional Diversification.

My future blog posts will help you discover what you are good at, how to get better at what you aren’t good at, turning your personal interests into professional careers, creating and maintaining your Professional Portfolio, and marketing your portfolio via social media networks.

Image Credit

  1. Gian Sorreta
    February 11, 2011 at 7:43 PM

    Very cool. I’m interested to see how creative you can get with this.

    • Eric Chaump
      February 11, 2011 at 7:46 PM

      Thanks Gian. I’m glad you’re interested. Stay tuned, there will be more to come!

  2. March 9, 2011 at 2:37 PM

    Hi Eric, I love your term “Professional Diversification.” It has always been a firm believe and I have often said, “Diversity is the key to staying employed.” By becoming diversified, I have been valuable to my employers, have never been fired or laid off from a job, and have always been able to find work, even in tough economic times. I look forward to following your work. – JoAnn

  3. March 9, 2011 at 5:39 PM

    JoAnn

    Thanks a bunch for the comment! I’m glad to see you’re interested in my topic. I like what you have to say about being diversified within your current job/company. Being diversified can give you the opportunity to move to a different department if your position is eliminated, rather than being completely laid off.

    Thanks,
    Eric

  4. June 21, 2013 at 11:57 AM

    always i used to read smaller articles which as well clear their
    motive, and that is also happening with this paragraph
    which I am reading at this place.

  5. July 22, 2013 at 12:35 AM

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe that this web site needs
    much more attention. I’ll probably be back again to read through more, thanks for the advice!

  6. August 2, 2013 at 6:40 AM

    If you are going for best contents like I do,
    only go to see this web site every day because
    it presents feature contents, thanks

  7. August 7, 2013 at 8:13 PM

    I don’t comment, but after browsing a lot of comments here Chasing the American Dream: One Way or (Many) Others | Professional Diversification. I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be just me or do a few of these remarks look as if they are coming from brain dead
    visitors? 😛 And, if you are writing on other online sites,
    I’d like to follow anything new you have to post. Could you make a list of every one of all your shared pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  8. August 19, 2013 at 12:21 AM

    I’m trying to find a weight loss solution in the form of a pill/drink that doesn’t make u lose any muscle, but makes you
    lose fat when taken along with working out. Which ones are the healthiest and works quickest?.

  9. September 2, 2013 at 7:15 AM

    We absolutely love your blog and find most of your post’s to be what precisely I’m looking for.

    Do you offer guest writers to write content for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on many of the subjects
    you write concerning here. Again, awesome blog!

  10. September 3, 2013 at 8:51 PM

    Starting immediately the Snappy Abutment is available in 4.
    Sharks could be witnessed within the waters
    close to these islands together with manta sun rays.
    Other all-inclusive packages worth looking up are at Hilton Waikiki Prince Kuhio ($459, includes 50% off parking), Aston Waikiki
    Sunset ($465), Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa ($485),
    Hyatt Regency Waikiki Beach Resort & Spa ($509),
    Aston Waikiki Beach Hotel ($545), Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort & Spa ($555), Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa ($595),
    and Trump International Hotel Waikiki Beach Walk ($615).

  11. September 13, 2013 at 1:21 PM

    With innovative designs byy designer label like Helmut Lang – the perfect leather jacket is waiting
    for you. At Gift Mugs you have a wide assortment of
    mugs thqt ccan be easiily personalized. Our intrepid time shopper could have bought four boxe for a
    dollar.

  12. March 1, 2014 at 4:04 PM

    I seldom create remarks, but I looked at through a few comments on this page Chasing the American Dream: One Way or (Many) Others | Professional Diversification.
    I do have some questions for you if you do not mind.
    Could it be only me or do a few of the responses appear
    like they are coming from brain dead visitors?
    😛 And, if you are posting at additional sites, I
    would like to follow you. Could you post a list of every one of all your social networking sites like your Facebook page,
    twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

  13. March 4, 2014 at 12:31 AM

    and there is arguably better value to be had by seeking out a more modestly specified car.
    Coachwork, pro-filed like the radiator, was simple but attractive and
    car’s appeal was in the manner of its going. Automotive team started 1970 strong, with a 1-2 victory at the Daytona 24 Hours race in Florida.

  14. March 22, 2014 at 5:59 AM

    We’re a group of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.

    Your web site provided us with valuable info to work on.
    You’ve done an impressive job and our entire community will be thankful to you.

  1. March 8, 2011 at 6:09 PM
  2. June 3, 2011 at 5:24 AM
  3. June 26, 2011 at 4:21 PM
  4. July 3, 2011 at 9:25 AM
  5. July 10, 2011 at 10:04 AM
  6. July 12, 2011 at 8:26 PM
  7. July 20, 2011 at 5:32 AM
  8. July 22, 2011 at 5:09 AM
  9. August 1, 2011 at 9:37 PM
  10. August 3, 2011 at 9:46 PM

Leave a Reply

